Burger Quest :: The Habit

Burger Quest :: The Habit

So the Habit has been on my list for a loooong time. There are a few of them within a 30 minute drive from the LBC, so I’ve had no excuse for denying myself a burger from the Habit, hearing so many raves about the place these last several months. How pleased was I to learn that Long Beach would be getting its very own Habit Burger Grill just 7.5 minutes from my job. Just 11.5 minutes from home (I’m estimating, here), in a shopping center that I pass near daily on my trips to and from volleyball/dance (for my kid – my dancing days are done, and I can’t really get a volleyball over a net).

Long Beach’s Habit is scheduled to open TODAY, but I was able to get my hands on one of their hamburgers (technically, a veggie burger – a slight frown given to them for not having turkey burgers … slight) when visiting my parents up in Stockton a few days ago. Can you believe that Stockton had a Habit before Long Beach?

Tasted as scrumptious as it looked
Tasted as scrumptious as it looked
You can't eat just 30
You can’t eat just 30

I digress. This is about the (veggie) burger. Really, it was all that a veggie burger should be – meaty (what?), tangy, satisfying, filling – a tasty little package of chargrilled goodness. I got my order to go, telling myself (because of the immensity of the thing) that it was fine if I was only able to eat half, if I wasn’t able to finish my fries.

Nothing left but the extra veggies
Nothing left but the extra veggies

When I stopped to breathe, the food was all gone. It was kind of magical, how a gigantic burger and a carton of fries could be there one moment and disappear the next.

While the experience was over rather quickly, I can say that I enjoyed every solitary bite. My one issue is that they wouldn’t let me sub out my veggie patty for beef in the combo meal. There is no combo deal for the veggie burger (made out of vegetables, correct?) so I had to pay nearly $2 more. Not a deal breaker by any means – I’ll surely return, maybe even today – but I will frown at the cashier when I’m denied the combo option. [She won’t give a damn.]

"No cheap combo for you!"
“No cheap combo for you!”

So not all habits have to be bad. Indeed, this Habit is delectable. As long as the Habit doesn’t become the Addiction, I say to enjoy it – welcome them to the LBC with open arms and mouths.

Official Dianderthal Burger Quest Burger List:
1.Island’s California Flyer turkey burger (BBQ sauce, “Island Reds” – fried onion straws, pepper jack cheese, lettuce, tomato & mayo)
2. The Habit (Veggie burger made like a Charburger, with mayo, pickle, tomato, lettuce, caramelized onions, cucumber, and sprouts)
3. The Counter (Build Your Own – turkey patty, grilled onions, cheddar cheese, chipotle aioli, ketchup)
4. Burger City Grill (The BCG, turkey patty, pickles, grilled onions)

Fry Factor
1. Island’s fries with ranch dressing
2. The Counter 50-50 fries (half regular, half sweet Ps)
3. The Habit french fries
4. Burger City Grill fries

The Habit Burger Grill – Long Beach, Stockton, and other locations
3801 Lakewood Blvd.
Long Beach, CA 90808

Leave a comment