Ladies Who Dine :: Michael’s Pizzeria

Ladies Who Dine :: Michael’s Pizzeria

Yah, yah, yah. So we cheated a bit this month, going to Michael’s Pizzeria in downtown Long Beach. Cheating because it was a place that each of us (at least the Ladies who made it for our June outing) had been to before. Kind of. Sort of. We’d been to Michael’s Pizzeria in Naples for lunch. But this outing was slightly different because, a) there was wine, b) we were at the downtown location, seated outside, and c) well, because it was LWD, of course – and at Ladies Who Dine, we always have a good time.

Michael's makes Kristina smile
Michael’s makes Kristina smile
Sandy makes Ivonne smile
Sandy makes Ivonne smile

And, we always have wine. Three of us enjoyed their rosé – Gaglioppo Cirò Rosato – which was just sweet enough for a sunny evening. My kid was with me (as LWD President, sometimes I break the rules) and she picked out our seats, the sturdy, large fire-pit table, which may have inhibited conversation in other company. But the Ladies are loud – we were able to hear each other just fine.

My freshly poured glass of rosé
My freshly poured glass of rosé

This is the kind of place that makes me appreciate Long Beach. Located on the Promenade right next to Beachwood BBQ, it gives us suburban LBCers a taste of city life. And the pizzas at Michael’s can hang with the big boys, ranked up there with those from the critically acclaimed Mozza as authentically Italian and wonderful.

Pizze Margherita DOP (Denomination of Origin Protected)
Pizze Margherita DOP (Denomination of Origin Protected)
Pizze Proscuiutto e Arugula
Pizze Carbonara
Insalata di Finocchi
Insalata di Finocchi

That’s right – I’ve posted about Michael’s before. And yes, I’ve gotten the same thing every time I’ve been. But my go-to order – the Pizze Margherita and the Affogato (this time, with Stracchiatella instead of the usual Hazelnut) – is the bomb-diggity. I’m hesitant to try something new when this meal is so complete and satisfying. But when I do, you’ll be the first to know. Or, you should go to Michael’s yourself and tell me what to try next.

Affogatto!!
Affogatto!!

Still, chances are that when it comes time to order, I’ll be asking for the Margherita once again. What can I say? The Ladies are stubborn!

Michael’s Pizzeria
210 E. 3rd Street, Suite C
Long Beach, CA 90802

One thought on “Ladies Who Dine :: Michael’s Pizzeria

Leave a comment